The taste of recipes from times gone by

SoCosy Drink & Food

Ah, there are smells and flavours that linger in the memory and that one encounters again with pleasure, when one dines at the bistro- brasserie Le Petit Saint Louis in Marseille. And that is what has made it successful! What are your favourite “Madeleines de Proust”? Take a trip down memory lane and discover our selection… To round off with your own memories! 

Eggs mimosa and country terrine

And yes, at Mamie, there is always fresh bread and a good terrine that the owner has prepared herself. With pork, with rabbit, with poultry livers. Smooth or with chunks. Always accompanied by a small slice of sausage. Another great Mamie classic: eggs mimosa. This also appears in the bistro cuisine. It’s a very simple recipe: eggs, mayonnaise, salt and pepper!

Homemade mashed potatoes

Floury potatoes that Mamie used to boil. One used to burn one’s fingers when trying to remove the peel! And before you know it, they are mashed with a generous pat of butter and some crème fraîche.
When some people reminisce about the mashed potatoes of days gone by, they still get a sense of the smell of nutmeg or grated truffle for special occasions! Obviously, with this lovely mashed potatoes, a dish in sauce was par for the course: coq au vin, veal stew, chicken with olives, roast pork with prunes.

 

Tarte tatin, hot chocolate, whipped cream

The entremets used to appear on the desserts page! Impossible to resist were the caramel custard with cream and eggs, chocolate, vanilla, praline. To be enjoyed with a Russian cigarette, crisp and buttery. Mamie also threw herself into making Peach Melba and Poire Belle Hélène, the warm compotes for snacks and clafoutis, with fruits from the garden!

© So Cosy Hotels

Le goût des recettes d’antan

SoCosy Drink & Food

Ah, il y a des odeurs et des saveurs qui restent en mémoire et qu’on retrouve avec plaisir, lorsqu’on s’attable au bistrot- brasserie Le Petit Saint Louis à Marseille. Et c’est ce qui fait son succès ! Quelles sont vos « Madeleines de Proust » préférées ? Chaussez vos lunettes nostalgiques et découvrez notre sélection… A compléter avec vos propres souvenirs ! 

Les oeufs mimosas et la terrine de campagne

Et oui, chez Mamie, il y a toujours du pain frais et une bonne terrine, qu’elle a préparée elle-même. Au porc, au lapin, aux foies de volailles. Lisse ou avec des morceaux. Toujours accompagnée d’une petite rondelle de saucisson. Autre grand classique de Mamie : les oeufs Mimosas. On les retrouve aussi dans la cuisine de bistrot. Une recette toute simple : des oeufs, de la mayonnaise, du sel et du poivre !

Apéros petit saint louis 2

Les apéros du Petit Saint Louis, Marseille

Les purées maison

Des pommes de terre à chair farineuse, que Mamie faisait bouillir. Elles brûlaient les doigts quand on essayait d’enlever la peau ! Et hop, au presse-purée, avec une belle noix de beurre et de la crème fraîche.
Quand certains pensent à la purée d’autrefois, ils sentent encore l’odeur de muscade râpée ou de truffes pour les grandes occasions ! Evidemment, avec cette belle purée, un plat en sauce était de rigueur : coq au vin, blanquette de veau, poulet aux olives, rôti de porc aux pruneaux.

 

Tarte tatin, chocolat chaud, chantilly

A la page desserts, il y avait les entremets ! Impossible de résister au flan au caramel et aux crèmes aux oeufs, au chocolat, à la vanille, au praliné. A déguster avec une cigarette russe, craquante, au gout beurré. Mamie se lançait aussi dans la confection des pêches Melba et des Poire Belle Hélène, les compotes tièdes pour le goûters et des clafoutis, avec les fruits du jardin !

Rendez-vous à Marseille au Petit Saint Louis – Tramway : Cours Saint Louis 

chocolat 2

Généreux desserts ! 🙂

 

> Découvrir La Carte

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r