Ibis meets Bonelli’s eagle

Socosy in and out

Hello, dear friends of the So Cosy Blog I am Ibis , your Camargue wading bird, the one who guides you in the sky during your stay in our hotels. And yes, I am fed up that we only talk about the pink flamingos of the Camargue. While during your stay in the Belle Vue hotel in Marseilles, you will encounter lots of interesting species. Head for the creeks for an off-season visit. And watch the majestic flight of the Bonelli’s eagle! 

Ibis and the Bonelli’s eagle between Camargue and Alpilles 

The Bonelli’s eagle is a medium-sized bird of prey living in the Mediterranean arc that I come across just as much as the Ibis in the Camargue and in the Alpilles. As these are two places of predilections for me too. Except that when I line the coast in search of insects to eat, the Bonelli’s eagle flies above my feathers. I recognise it easily, due to its plumage, a white patch on his body contrasts strongly with its dark wings. The young have, meanwhile, a reddish colour and only take on their adult plumage around 3-4 years.

The Bonelli’s eagle and the Calanques of Marseilles

Major difference with my Ibis tribe which loves marshy areas: the tribe of the Bonelli’s eagle occupies habitats of scrubland and rocky cliffs where its presence in the rocky inlets of Marseilles comes from. Fossil records show that the Bonelli’s eagle was already in this area 200, 000 years ago. This is the reason why it is considered a relic species. Unfortunately, between the high voltage wires and prey depletion, the Bonelli’s eagle is in danger. During your walk in the National Park of the Calanques (rocky stretch of coast with deep inlets, east of Marseilles), be respectful of the area in order to preserve it! 

© So Cosy Hotels

Ibis rencontre l’aigle de Bonelli

Hey ... pssst

Hello, chers amis du Blog So Cosy, je suis Ibis, votre échassier de Camargue, celui qui vous guide dans le ciel lors de vos séjours dans nos hôtels. Et oui, j’en ai assez qu’on ne parle QUE des flamants roses de Camargue. Alors qu’au cours de votre séjour à l’hotel Belle Vue à Marseille, vous allez croiser des tas d’espèces intéressantes. Prenez la direction des calanques pour une visite hors saison. Et regardez le vol majestueux de l’Aigle de Bonelli ! 

Ibis et l’Aigle de Bonelli entre Camargue et Alpilles

L’aigle de Bonelli est un rapace de taille moyenne vivant dans l’arc méditerranéen que je côtoie beaucoup en tant qu’Ibis en Camargue et dans les Alpilles. Car ce sont là deux lieux de prédilections pour moi aussi. Sauf que lorsque je borde le littoral en quête d’insectes à déguster, l’Aigle de Bonelli vole au dessus de mes plumes. Je le reconnais aisément, car au niveau de son plumage, une tache blanche sur son corps présente un fort contraste avec ses ailes sombres. Les jeunes ont, quant à eux, une couleur roussâtre et ne revêtent leur plumage adulte que vers 3 à 4 ans. 

images-4

L’aigle de Bonelli et les Calanques de Marseille

Grande différence avec ma tribu Ibis qui aime les zones marécageuses : la tribu de l’Aigle de Bonelli  occupe les habitats de garrigue et les escarpements rocheux d’où sa présence dans les calanques de Marseille. Des traces fossiles attestent que l’Aigle de Bonelli était déjà dans ce secteur il y a 200 000 ans. C’est la raison pour laquelle il est considéré comme une espèce relique. Malheureusement, entre les fils à haute tension et la raréfaction des proies, l’Aigle de Bonelli est en danger. Lors de votre promenade dans le parc national des Calanques, soyez respectueux de son domaine pour le préserver ! 

 imgres-5imgres-6

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r