Pregnant during the winter sports: the So Cosy solutions

Non classé

Ah… winter holidays whilst pregnant! There are always solutions for outdoor activities in the mountains. That’s what Jules tells me while we’re in the car and we head toward the hotel du Jeu de Paume in Chamonix. Reviewing our options on the ground! After all, it is “winter sports” in plural…

A kilometre on foot

In the mountains, hiking is done all year round. In our sector, we are going to make the most of 17 km of maintained and signposted footpaths, from Chamonix to Les Tines. Three whole circuits that deliver Alpine nature in all its diversity to the walkers that we are. Some advice that Jules keeps repeating to me before going: check the weather. Jules is prudent. And he’s right, in the mountains, the weather changes and can turn into a catastrophe within minutes. Another tip given that I’m pregnant: hiking, including snowshoeing, engages all the muscles. I will make sure to take it easy and to not exceed 2 metres altitude in case of breathlessness.

Forbidding skiing and ice-skating

Ah ice skating, it brings back memories of flirting and giggling with girlfriends. My back remembers it too… But this time it’s different, I’m pregnant, and no question of taking the slightest risk of placental abruption. So for this year, it’s a no to skiing and ice-skating! This is what the professionals recommend: no alpine skiing beyond 4 months pregnant and no cross country skiing beyond 6 months of pregnancy. And in the streets, I hold onto Jules to avoid slipping and I wear ankle boots that support my ankles! 

The swimming pool and jacuzzi at the Jeu de Paume hotel in Chamonix

Luckily, Jules has thought of everything, and he takes me to a hotel with lots of opportunities for relaxation. Massage, a relaxing swim in the pool, and comfort in the jacuzzi. An excellent remedy to relax my back and gently work my muscles. And water is a magical element that has the advantage of reminding me that I can be light, light…

© So Cosy Hotels

Enceinte pendant les sports d’hiver : les solutions So Cosy

Hey ... pssst

Ah… les vacances d’hiver enceinte ! Il y a toujours des solutions pour pratiquer une activité à la montagne. C’est ce que Jules me répète, alors que nous sommes dans la voiture et que nous prenons la direction de l’hôtel du Jeu de Paume à Chamonix. Passage en revue de nos possibilités sur le terrain ! Après tout,  « sports d’hiver », c’est bien au pluriel…

Un kilomètre à pied

A la montagne, la randonnée se pratique été comme hiver. Dans notre secteur, nous allons profiter de 17 km de chemins pour piétons entretenus et balisés, de Chamonix aux Tines. Trois circuits complets qui livrent aux marcheurs que nous sommes, la nature alpine dans toute sa diversité. Un conseil que me rabâche Jules avant de partir : consulter la météo. Jules est prévoyant. Et il a raison, à la montagne, le temps varie et peut devenir catastrophique en quelques minutes. Autre conseil étant donné que je suis enceinte : la randonnée, notamment en raquette, sollicite tous les muscles. Je veillerai donc à y aller doucement et à ne pas dépasser les 2 mètres d’altitude sous peine d’essoufflement. 

Proscrire le ski et le patinage

Ah le patin à glace, ça me rappelle des souvenirs de flirt et des fous rires avec les copines. Mon dos s’en souvient aussi… Mais cette fois, c’est différent, je suis enceinte, et pas question de prendre le moindre risque de décollement du placenta. Donc, pour cette année, le ski et le patinage, c’est non ! Voilà ce que les professionnels recommandent : pas de ski alpin au delà de 4 mois de grossesse et pas de ski de fond au delà de 6 mois de grossesse. Et dans les rues, je cramponne Jules pour éviter les glissades et je porte des chaussures montantes qui maintiennent mes chevilles! 

La piscine et le jacuzzi de l’hotel du Jeu de Paume à Chamonix

Heureusement, Jules a pensé à tout, et il m’emmène dans un hotel avec de nombreuses possibilités de détente. Massage, longueurs délassantes dans la piscine, et réconfort dans le jacuzzi. Un excellent remède pour délasser mon dos et travailler mes muscles en douceur. Et l’eau est un élément magique qui a l’avantage de me rappeler que je peux être légère, légère…

 

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r