The best, not to be missed places in Marseille

Hey ... pssst

Marseille is an absolute must in the south of France. A perfect holiday destination, it combines all the best things together: sunny climate, cosmopolitan mood, Mediterranean atmosphere, magnificent beaches, fantastic nature, good food and a wide variety of activities. Among the best, not to be missed places in Marseille, you absolutely must visit its Old Port, its Notre Dame de la Garde Cathedral, Le Panier, its district markets, its MuCEM and its Calanques.

The Old Port of Marseille

When it’s time for a getaway in the south of France, what better than to make a luxury trip to Marseille. The journey begins in the Old Port, the nerve centre of the city. A historic site, it has long witnessed the history of the city. When it’s time for a stroll, walk around the fort Saint Jean at the port entrance. Otherwise, take the ferry for the famous crossing from the City Hall to Place aux Huiles. If it’s atmosphere you’re looking for, enjoy yourself in the restaurants, ice cream parlours or on the terraces of corner cafes on the northern bank of the port.

The cathedral Notre Dame de la Garde

When staying in Marseille, you must visit Notre Dame de la Garde cathedral, or the Bonne Mère as it is known to the people of Marseille. The southern route is undoubtedly the most interesting. From the Canebière, your route, on foot, will take you through an area of scrub and pine trees for half an hour. However, it is still possible to take the bus or the train if you do not like walking. Once at the top of the hill, the cathedral reveals its beauty to you, with its Romanesque-Byzantine style adorned with cupolas, gold and mosaics. The view from there over the Old Port and the sea is also stunning.

Le Panier

 Perched on the hill just above the port, the district of Le Panier evokes more than ever its designation as “the oldest town in France”. You will undoubtedly be fascinated by its steep and narrow little streets on its abrupt slopes. The houses are packed in next to each other and have four or five floors. You will also see bistros, antique shops, artists’ workshops, craft shops and restaurants where you can taste bouillabaisse, a typical dish made of fish soup.

The markets of the district

For a change of scene, tour the numerous markets of the city. Apart from the market at the Old Port, where you will find many surprises, next to the Porte d’Aix in the centre of avenue Camille Pelletan, you can buy Oriental products such as clothing, decorations, incense and spices. You will feel as though you are in a souk in North Africa. If you are visiting Marseille on a Friday morning, explore the Prado flower market. You will see many florists and horticulturists from the area selling various plant species.

The MuCEM

Visiting the Museum of European and Mediterranean Civilisations during a trip to Marseille is a must. It is located on the site of the fort Saint Jean. It would still be worth a visit for its particular architectural style alone. It is dedicated to the preservation, study, presentation and mediation of a European and Mediterranean anthropological heritage. From its terrace, you can relax or enjoy the view over the Mediterranean.

The Calanques National Park

 To complete your getaway, it is important to explore the creeks of the park that extends along about 20 kilometres of coastline. It is a remarkable site where you can make a hike of any level of difficulty. Climbing is also available. The ecosystem is rich, consisting of limestone cliffs and abundant flora. You can be sure of experiencing an adventure there surrounded by exceptional nature.

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r

Les meilleurs endroits à ne pas manquer à Marseille

Hey ... pssst

La cité phocéenne est absolument un incontournable dans le sud de la France. Destination parfaite pour les vacances, elle concentre tous les superlatifs: climat ensoleillé, ambiance cosmopolite, ambiance méditerranéenne, magnifiques plages, sites naturels grandioses, bonne cuisine et une panoplie d’activités. Parmi les meilleurs endroits immanquables à Marseille, il faudra absolument visiter son Vieux-Port, sa Cathédrale Notre Dame de la Garde, le Panier, ses marchés de quartier, son MuCEM et ses Calanques.

Le Vieux-Port de Marseille

Le temps d’une escapade dans le sud de la France, quoi de mieux que de réaliser un voyage de luxe à Marseille. Ce périple commence dans le Vieux-Port, le centre névralgique de la cité. Lieu historique, il a longtemps été témoin de l’histoire de la ville. Le temps d’une ballade, faites le tour du fort Saint Jean à l’entrée du port. Autrement, prenez le Ferry-boat pour effectuer la fameuse traversée depuis la Mairie vers la Place aux Huiles. Si vous voulez de l’ambiance, sur la Rive-Nord du port, passez un bon moment dans les restaurants, glaciers ou sur les terrasses de cafés du coin.

La Cathédrale Notre Dame de la Garde

La Cathédrale Notre Dame de la Garde ou la Bonne Mère pour les Marseillais, est immanquable durant un séjour à Marseille. L’itinéraire du sud est sans conteste le plus intéressant. Depuis la Canebière, votre parcours, à pied, passera par une garrigue et une pinède pour une durée d’une heure demi. Cependant, il est toujours possible de prendre le bus ou bien le petit train si vous n’aimez pas la marche. Une fois au sommet de la colline, la cathédrale vous expose sa beauté, de style romano-Byzantin muni de coupoles, ors, mosaïques. La vue y est également imprenable sur le Vieux-Port et la mer.

Le Panier

 Perché sur la colline juste au-dessus du port, le quartier du Panier reflète plus que jamais sa nomination de « ville la plus ancienne de France ». Vous serez sûrement fasciné par ses ruelles escarpées et étroites dans des pentes raides. Les maisons y sont tassées les unes à côté des autres et disposent de quatre à cinq étages. Vous y verrez également des bistrots, des antiquaires, des ateliers créateurs, des boutiques d’artisanat et des restos où vous pourrez goûter à la bouillabaisse, un plat typique constitué de soupe de poisson.

Les marchés de quartier

Pour changer de panorama, faites le tour de nombreux marchés de la ville. À part le marché du Vieux-Port, où vous aurez de nombreuses surprises, du côté de la Porte d’Aix au centre de l’avenue Camille Pelletan, vous pourrez acheter des produits orientaux tels que vêtements, décorations, encens et épices. Vous vous sentirez comme dans les souks en Afrique du Nord. Si vous êtes de visite à Marseille un vendredi matin, découvrez le marché aux fleurs du Prado. Vous y verrez de nombreux fleuristes et horticulteurs de la région vendant diverses espèces de plantes.

Le MuCEM

Il est évident de visiter le Musée des Civilisations d’Europe et de la Méditerranée lors d’un voyage en Marseille. Il est localisé sur le site du fort Saint Jean. Ne serait-ce que pour son style architectural particulier, il mérite un détour. Il est consacré à la conservation, l’étude, la présentation et la médiation d’un patrimoine anthropologique sur l’aire européenne et méditerranéenne. Vous pourrez vous y détendre ou admirez la vue sur la Méditerranée sur sa terrasse.

Le parc des Calanques

 Pour clore votre escapade, il est primordial d’explorer le parc des Calanques qui s’étend sur environ 20 kilomètres de côtes. C’est un site remarquable où vous pourrez effectuer une randonnée de toutes les catégories. L’escalade est également au rendez-vous. L’écosystème y est riche, constitué de falaises de calcaires et une flore abondante. Vous serez sûr d’y passer une aventure en nature exceptionnelle.

 

 

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r