Focus on the isles of Frioul with the Little Blue Book

Non classé

During your stay at the hotel Saint-Louis in Marseille, there is one place you absolutely must visit: the isles of Frioul. In fact, there are three islands collectively known as the “Frioul archipelago”: the isle accommodating Château d’If of Count of Monte Cristo fame, and the isles of Pomègues and Ratonneau. Today, a book allows you to learn all about its secrets.

Getting to the isles of Frioul

 

To reach the isles of Frioul, set out from the hotel Saint Louis after a hearty breakfast in the hotel or at the bistro Le Petit Saint Louis, and make your way down to the Old Port of Marseille for a ride out on the water shuttle. These operate even when the weather is bad or windy, under the territorial continuity, because some of the residents of Marseille have elected to make their home on the Frioul archipelago.

 

The Frioul archipelago as seen by a Belgian photographer

 

A massif sculpted by the wind, enchanting coves, scrubland and treeless terrain providing no shade: welcome to the heart of a landscape that sometimes seems lunar, and always striking. It has seduced the Belgian photographer Patricia Urfels, who has signed the first and only book on the Frioul archipelago: the Little Blue Book. It guides every traveller during a visit and lets him or her discover the legendary sites of the archipelago. It affords the reader the opportunity to be guided towards the unseen and to invite the wind to turn the pages of this iodised book!


Reserve your room at the hotel Saint Louis in Marseille!

Our advice: to enjoy a lovely walk, discover the Frioul archipelago off season. It’s very hot there in summer! Much better to opt for a boat and some swimming…

© So Cosy Hotels

Cap sur le Frioul avec le Petit Livre Bleu

Hey ... pssst

couv-livre-bleu 2

Lors de votre séjour à l’hotel Saint-Louis à Marseille, une visite incontournable s’impose : celle des îles du Frioul. En fait, ce sont 3 îles qui sont regroupées sous l’appellation « archipel du Frioul » : l’île du château d’If et du célèbre Comte de Monte Cristo, l’île de Pomègues et celle de Ratonneau. Un livre vous permet aujourd’hui d’en connaître tous les secrets.


Se rendre au Frioul

 

Pour accéder aux îles du Frioul, quittez l’hotel Saint Louis après un copieux petit déjeuner au sein de l’hotel ou au bistrot le Petit Saint Louis, et rendez-vous sur le Vieux Port de Marseille pour emprunter les navettes maritimes. Elles fonctionnent y compris lorsque le temps est mauvais ou venté, au titre de la continuité territoriale, car certains marseillais ont élu domicile sur l’archipel Frioul.

 

L’archipel du Frioul vu par une photographe belge

 

Massif sculpté par les vents, criques enchanteresses, végétation rase, sans l’ombre d’un arbre : bienvenue au coeur d’un paysage parfois lunaire, toujours saisissant. Il a séduit la photographe belge Patricia Urfels, qui a signé le premier et le seul ouvrage sur l’archipel du Frioul : le Petit Livre Bleu. Il permet d’orienter chaque personne dans sa visite et lui fait découvrir les lieux légendaires de l’archipel. L’occasion de vous laisser guider vers l’inaperçu et d’inviter le vent à tourner les pages de cet ouvrage iodé !


Réservez votre chambre à l’hotel Saint Louis à Marseille !


Notre conseil : découvrez l’archipel du Frioul hors saison pour profiter d’une belle balade. L’été, il y fait très chaud ! Mieux vaut jouer la carte du bateau et de la baignade…

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r