A real Christmas present, or nothing!

Socosy in and out

It’s still my friend Karen, the Parisian at heart, who makes me rediscover the Hotel Drouot, the largest auction venue and not just in Paris! A real Ali Baba’s cave, a place to source a Christmas gift, a proper one that is chosen with thought.

What can one find at the Salle Drouot?

It is first and foremost the mecca of the art market, but you’ll find everything there! From antique jewellery to masterpiece paintings and vintage bags, the range of items for sale almost completely covers everything that is traditionally offered.

It should be noted that these sales may cater to both modest or generous budgets and that a nice oil painting on canvas, the work of an artist who has faded into obscurity, may, with a bit of luck, be unhooked for a very reasonable fee.

Thinking outside the box

The gift brings pleasure to the person who discovers it after prolonged excitement and to the person who had to think of it, hunt for it and finally track it down…sometimes the opposite of what he had in mind…

In all cases, the gift that tugs at the heartstrings because the story behind it is unique increases the emotional impact. Items like that, such as the simple Hermes scarf that’s thirty years old and that would be perfect for Aunt Noemi, can be found at Drouot.

To visit for fun

Far from discouraging the onlooker, on the contrary, this institution invites you to pay a visit on your way to the museum. A quick glance at its website will tempt you.

Every sale is preceded by the exhibition of objects, such as the exceptional collection of antique books by Pierre Bergé which provided the motivation for Karen’s visit, in which I participated, and thanks to which I was able to gaze longingly at the first edition of the Confessions of St. Augustin dating back to 1470!

© So Cosy Hotels

Un vrai cadeau de Noel, sinon rien !

Hey ... pssst

C’est encore mon amie Karen, la parisienne dans l’âme, qui me fait re-découvrir l’hôtel Drouot, le plus grand site de vente aux enchères et pas seulement sur la place de Paris ! Une véritable caverne d’Ali Baba, un endroit où débusquer un cadeau de Noël, le vrai, celui qui se choisit avec passion.

Que trouve-t-on à la salle Drouot ?

C’est avant tout la plaque tournante du marché de l’art mais on y trouve de tout ! Du bijou ancien au tableau de maître en passant par le sac vintage, l’éventail des objets mis en vente couvre presque intégralement tout ce qui est traditionnellement offert.

Il convient de noter que ces ventes peuvent s’adresser aussi bien aux petits ou aux énormes budgets et qu’une jolie huile sur toile, œuvre d’un artiste passé aux oubliettes, peut, avec un peu de chance, être décrochée pour une somme très raisonnable.

Sortir de sentiers battus

Le cadeau fait plaisir à celui qui le découvre après avoir procuré de longs moments d’excitation à celui qui a dû l’imaginer, le rechercher, puis le trouver enfin … parfois à l’opposé de ce qu’il avait fantasmé …

Dans tous les cas, le cadeau qui a une âme parce que son histoire est unique augmente la charge émotionnelle. Ces objets là, comme le simple carré Hermès trente ans d’âge qui comblerait tante Noemi, on les débusque à Drouot.

A visiter pour le plaisir

Loin de décourager le badaud, cette institution vous invite au contraire à vous y rendre comme on irait au musée. Un petit coup d’œil à son site web vous en donnera l’envie.

Toute vente étant précédée de l’exposition des objets, c’est celle de la collection exceptionnelle de livres anciens de Pierre Bergé qui a motivé la visite de Karen dans laquelle j’ai été entraînée grâce à quoi j’ai pu caresser du regard la première édition des Confessions de Saint-Augustin datant de 1470 !

http://www.drouot.fr/

9 rue Drouot, 75009 Paris

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r