Marcel Pagnol : The heart of Provence

Socosy in and out

It’s already 40 years since Marcel Pagnol left his beloved Provence for heaven where he no doubt plays cards. The writer, playwright and French film-maker left a mark on his homeland and continues to be just as topical as ever. On the occasion of your stay at the Belle Vue hotel, is the time to follow in his footsteps. 

A trip into the world of Pagnol    

For those who want to see the real landscapes that inspired his works, in the directions of Aubagne, with a stop off at the neighbourhood of Valentine, to discover the chateau de la Buzine. It is here that Marcel Pagnol wrote le chateau de ma mère (the castle of my mother) and la Gloire de mon père (the glory of my father). He had lived there during his childhood. Today, that castle became the home of the Mediterranean film industries. Go back on your route and reach Garlaban. It is from the heart of this mountain range that Pagnol draws his inspiration. As a child, he is an avid fan of playing truant!

The Old Port of Marseille and Pagnol

“I saw in my dreams, happy fishermen…small shady bars along the waterfront” wrote Marcel Pagnol. Marseille is HIS city, she served as the backdrop for his films and in particular his famous card game. Le Vieux Port has hosted the films Marius in 1931, Fanny in 1932 and César in 1936. Push open the door of the Caravelle Restaurant Bar, and imagine the joyful hustle and bustle on the quays, a day of shooting… While filming, Marcel Pagnol moved to Marseille, onto rue Jean Mermoz, behind the Prado.

 

un des films cultes de Marcel Pagnol

un des films cultes de Marcel Pagnol

The grandson Nicolas Pagnol is a fan of his grandfather


He was born in Paris, and he doesn’t have the slightest accent, but he carries the heritage of his illustrious ancestor. Nicolas Pagnol admits without difficulty, he loves the work of the grandfather that he has not stopped shedding new light on. His publications include by Flammarion “Pagnol, the album of a life”. The Provençal fervour, for those who gave so much to this land, is therefore not about to be extinguished!

The account of Daniel Auteuil on Marcel Pagnol, on RTL in the Yves Calvi podcast

© So Cosy Hotels

Marcel Pagnol : coeur de Provence

Hey ... pssst

Voilà déjà 40 ans que Marcel Pagnol a quitté sa chère Provence pour le paradis où il joue certainement aux cartes. L’écrivain, dramaturge et cinéaste français a marqué sa terre natale et reste plus que jamais d’actualité.  A l’occasion de votre séjour à l’hotel Belle Vue, c’est le moment de mettre vos pas dans les siens. 

Une escapade dans l’univers de Pagnol 

Pour celles et ceux qui ont envie de voir les vrais paysages qui ont inspiré ses oeuvres, direction Aubagne, avec un arrêt au niveau du quartier de la Valentine, pour découvrir le chateau de la Buzine. C’est ici que Marcel Pagnol a écrit le chateau de ma mère et la Gloire de mon père. Il a vécu durant son enfance. Aujourd’hui, ce château est devenu la maison des cinématographies de la Méditerranée. Reprenez votre route et gagnez le Garlaban. C’est au coeur de ce massif que Pagnol puise son inspiration. Enfant, c’est un adepte fervent de l’école buissonnière !

Le Vieux Port de Marseille et Pagnol

« Je voyais dans mes rêves, le peuple joyeux des pêcheurs…les petits bars ombreux le long des quais » écrivait Marcel Pagnol. Marseille est SA ville, elle a servi de décor à ses tournages et notamment à sa célèbre partie de cartes. Le Vieux Port a ainsi accueilli les films Marius en 1931, Fanny en 1932 et César en 1936. Poussez la porte du Bar Restaurant la Caravelle, et imaginez l’effervescence joyeuse sur les quais, un jour de tournage… Alors qu’il tourne, Marcel Pagnol s’installe à Marseille, dans la rue Jean Mermoz, derrière le Prado.

un des films cultes de Marcel Pagnol

un des films cultes de Marcel Pagnol

Le petit fils Nicolas Pagnol est fan de son grand-père

Il est né à Paris, et il n’a pas une pointe d’accent, mais il porte l’héritage de son illustre ancêtre. Nicolas Pagnol l’avoue sans peine, il adore l’oeuvre de aïeul qu’il n’a de cesse d’éclairer sous un jour nouveau. Il a notamment publié chez Flammarion « Pagnol, l’album d’une vie« . La ferveur provençale, pour celui qui  a tant donné à cette terre, n’est donc pas prête de s’éteindre ! Le témoignage de Daniel Auteuil à propos de Marcel Pagnol, sur RTL au micro d’Yves Calvi

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r