The Canal Saint Martin: an open air museum

Hey ... pssst

It’s difficult to imagine what lies at the bottom of a small, quiet and uneventful canal such as the Canal Saint-Martin, which winds its way through the 1oth and 11th arrondissements of Paris! Don’t worry, there are no dead bodies, just a motley collection of objects surreptitiously thrown into it as if their owners had preferred to consign them to this living museum rather than to a dumpster… For a few weeks the canal remains drained and provides passersby with a feast for the eyes.

Its secrets exposed

This minor waterway that flows along the banks of Jemmapes and Valmy exudes a special atmosphere because it is suddenly frozen in time. The poetry of its century-old plane trees and chestnut trees mingles with the mystery of its subterranean vaults.

Now drained of all its water, it reveals its treasures, these everyday objects such as computers, bicycles and scooters, and most unusually, this seamstress bust. Coated in greyish sludge, they already look fossilised.

It was last cleaned 15 years ago

In French river terminology, the emptying and curettage process of a canal is called “chômage”. 90,000 m3 of water are being drained along a 4.5 km stretch. It’s a monumental task, painstakingly performed with nets because the large number of fish that have lost their way en route are being redirected towards the Seine and will thus find their friends.

Jean Papoul, who has dedicated his life to the canals of Paris, recounts that a long time ago, during a draining, this submerged museum even revealed some gold coins…

An historic monument

It was only in 1993 that the Canal Saint-Martin was registered as an historical monument. This project, conceived under the Ancien Régime and inaugurated in 1825, had a medical function as it was intended to supply the city of Paris, where the supply was inadequate, with drinking water.

Today, this heritage, which includes swing bridges, fixed bridges and quaint footbridges, is preserved for its historical value but also for the biodiversity that it encompasses, with a very abundant flora and fish fauna.

© So Cosy Hotels

Le Canal Saint Martin : un musée à ciel ouvert

Hey ... pssst

Difficile d’imaginer ce que recèle le lit d’un petit canal paisible et sans histoires tel le canal Saint-Martin qui s’étire sur le 10ème et 11ème arrondissements de Paris ! Pas d’inquiétude, nul cadavre mais un monde d’objets hétéroclites subrepticement jetés là comme si leurs propriétaires avaient préféré les confier à ce musée vivant plutôt qu’à une benne à ordures…Pendant quelques semaines le canal reste vidangé et un spectacle s’offre aux passants.

Ses secrets mis à nu

Cette petite voie d’eau qui longe les quais de Jemmapes et de Valmy dégage une atmosphère particulière parce que subitement figée dans le temps. La poésie de ses platanes et marronniers centenaires se mêle au mystère de ses voûtes souterraines.

Aujourd’hui vidé de toute son eau, il dévoile ses trésors, ces objets de la vie courante comme les ordinateurs, vélos et scooters, ou plus insolites, tel ce buste de couturière. Recouverts de boues grisâtre ils semblent déjà fossilisés.

Sa dernière toilette date de 15 ans

Dans le vocabulaire fluvial, le processus de vidange et de curetage d’un canal, se nomme « chômage ». Ce sont 90000 m3 d’eau qui sont vidangés le long de 4,5 km .Un travail titanesque fignolé à l’épuisette puisque les nombreux poissons qui se sont égarés en route sont remis sur le droit chemin vers la Seine et retrouvent ainsi leurs congénères.

Monsieur Jean Papoul, qui dédia sa vie aux canaux parisiens, raconte qu’il y a fort longtemps, lors d’une vidange, ce musée submergé libéra même quelques pièces d’or…

Un monument historique

C’est seulement en 1993 que le canal Saint Martin est inscrit monument historique. Ce projet né sous l’Ancien Régime et inauguré en 1825, avait une fonction sanitaire puisqu’il était destiné à l’adduction d’eau potable vers la ville de Paris où l’approvisionnement était insuffisant.

Aujourd’hui ce patrimoine qui compte ponts tournants, ponts fixes et passerelles piétonnes au charme suranné est préservé pour sa valeur historique mais également pour la biodiversité qu’il englobe avec une flore et une faune piscicole très riche.

Canal St Martin Paris

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r