Between the Eiffel Tower and the Military Academy

Socosy in and out

The Wall for Peace is erected on the virtual axis joining the Eiffel Tower with the Military Academy. A few steps from the world’s most visited tower, an extremely modern work in terms of its design and inherent concept, it nevertheless attracts a few onlookers …then it’s well worth a look!

Do not “miss it”…

The Wall for Peace is well worth a few more steps on the Champ de Mars… first for the beauty of the place and the peaceful air that surrounds it, but also for the aesthetic peculiar to this sculpture installation endowed with a strong symbol that it translates perfectly.

If the Eiffel Tower brings millions of visitors each year to the entrance of the Champ de Mars, and, at the other end, the Military Academy attracts tourists in numbers, the Wall for Peace is only approached by people passing by randomly between the two legendary places.

A recent monument

Its brief history, since it was only inaugurated in 2000, probably explains its weak attendance. Designed by the artist Clara Halter, wife of the author Marek Halter, the Wall for Peace is freely inspired by the Wailing Wall in Jerusalem. But unlike the latter, it has an airy lightness. A thin metal frame supports glass panels on which is inscribed the word “peace” in 49 languages, from Albanian to Persian to Wolof.

And then screens installed in the monument display messages of peace that visitors inspired to do so post on an interactive terminal.

However…

It was a year ago, in March 2014, that the work of Clara Halter was dealt its first severe blow: unidentified individuals brought down and smashed one of the glass panels. It is true that the work, paradoxically, had not been unanimously welcomed during its installation.

The Wall for Peace had already been subjected to acts of vandalism of a racist nature, but also, in a completely different vein, opposition to its installation near the Eiffel Tower.

This work remains there to this day, defiant…and it’s worth a visit!

© So Cosy Hotels

Entre Tour Eiffel et Ecole Militaire

Socosy in and out

C’est sur l’axe virtuel qui rejoint la Tour Eiffel à l’Ecole Militaire que s’érige le Mur de La Paix. A quelques pas de la tour la plus visitée au monde, une œuvre d’un grand modernisme, par sa conception et l’idée qu’elle porte, n’attire pourtant que quelques badauds… alors qu’elle vaut bien le coup d’œil !

Ne pas passer « à coté »…

Le Mur Pour La Paix vaut bien quelques pas de plus sur le Champ de Mars… D’abord pour la beauté du lieu et l’air paisible qui l’enveloppe, mais aussi pour l’esthétique propre à cette sculpture-installation chargée d’un symbole fort qu’elle traduit à merveille.

Si la Tour Eiffel rassemble des visiteurs par millions chaque année à l’entrée du Champ de Mars et, à l’autre l’extrémité l’Ecole Militaire attire des touristes en nombre, le Mur pour La Paix n’est approché, lui, que par quelques passants égarés entre deux lieux mythiques.

Un monument récent

Sa courte histoire, puisqu’il n’a été inauguré qu’en l’an 2000, explique probablement sa faible fréquentation. Conçu par l’artiste Clara Halter, épouse de l’écrivain Marek Halter, le Mur Pour La Paix s’inspire librement du Mur des lamentations de Jérusalem. Mais contrairement à ce dernier, il est d’une légèreté aérienne. Une fine charpente métallique soutien des panneaux en verre portant le mot paix en 49 langues, de l’albanais au persan en passant par le wolof.

Et puis, des écrans situés dans le monument affichent les messages de paix que les visiteurs inspirés déposent sur une borne interactive.

Et pourtant…

C’était il y a un an, en Mars 2014, que le premier coup dur fût porté à l’œuvre de Clara Halter : des individus non identifiés ont mis à terre et saccagé un des panneaux en verre. Il est vrai que l’œuvre, paradoxalement, n’avait pas recueilli l’unanimité lors de son installation.

Le Mur Pour La Paix avait déjà essuyé des actes de vandalisme de type raciste, mais aussi, dans un tout autre registre, des oppositions à son implantation dans l’axe de la Tour Eiffel.

Aujourd’hui cette cette oeuvre est toujours là, résiste… et mérite une visite !

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r