Padlocks of love in Paris: I said no to Jules!

Hey ... pssst

Ah, this is our first weekend getaway. Jules, my dear husband has good taste. He chose the so cosy setting of the Jeu de Paume hotel in Paris, on the Ile Saint Louis. A few steps along the banks of the Seine and here we are on the Passerelle des Arts bridge. Suddenly, Jules takes a charming little padlock out of his pocket … Freeze. My answer is NO! 

 

Reason 1: a padlock, as a symbol … nah! 

Before lovers carved hearts in the bark of trees. It was already not great to attack these poor old trees … well, let’s move on … Since the 1980s, a dark movement landed from Eastern European countries giving them the idea to lock their destinies and throw the key overboard. In my opinion, it scares me to have in mind the image of a padlock that attaches me to Jules. Admittedly, at first, I am in a minority, because in the spring of 2014, 40 tons of padlocks weighed on the wire fence of the Pont des Arts. But I persist and confirm: it scares me!

Reason 2: the weight of the padlocks, it is dangerous. 

Yes, it is like the weight of years that makes couples sag… The weight of the padlocks, despite campaigns carried out to limit them, eventually became the symbol of the fall: a piece of the fence collapsed in June 2014. Nobody was injured. Phew! But the mayor of Paris asked Bruno Julliard, Deputy for Culture and Heritage, to handle the case. His mission: to convince couples to seal their love … another way.

Reason 3: Paris is the most romantic city! 

Jules, my dear husband, we do not need to give in to this fad. We are already at the heart of the most romantic city in the world. Paris is love forever, a fragrance of eternity, a magical aura that surrounds us during sunsets from this September, the time stretches to infinity despite the return of classes. “To breathe Paris preserves the soul”, that’s what Victor Hugo wrote. Jules, let us walk beside the Medici Fountain in the Jardin du Luxembourg, dreaming under the lamppost in Fürstenberg square, and let us return hand in hand to Ile Saint Louis. And there I will say YES!

 

© So Cosy Hotels

Cadenas d’amour à Paris : j’ai dit non à Jules !

Hey ... pssst

Ah, c’est notre premier week-end en amoureux. Jules, mon cher et tendre a du goût. Il a choisi le cadre so cosy de l’hotel du Jeu de Paume à Paris, sur l’île Saint Louis. Quelques pas sur les berges de la Seine, et nous voici sur la passerelle des Arts. Tout à coup, Jules sort un charmant petit cadenas de sa poche… Arrêt sur image. Ma réponse est NON ! 

Les cadenas d'amour sur la passerelle du pont des arts

Les cadenas d’amour sur le Pont des arts

Raison 1 : un cadenas, comme symbole… bof ! 

Avant, les amoureux taillaient des coeurs dans l’écorce des arbres. Ce n’était déjà pas super d’attaquer ces pauvres arbres centenaires…bref, passons…Depuis les années 1980, un obscur courant débarqué des pays de l’Est leur a donné l’idée de cadenasser leurs destinées et jeter la clé par dessus bord. Moi, ça me fiche la trouille d’avoir en tête l’image d’un cadenas qui m’attache à Jules. Certes, à priori, je suis minoritaire, car au printemps 2014, 40 tonnes de cadenas pesaient sur le grillage du Pont des arts. Mais je persiste et signe : ça me fiche la trouille !

Raison 2 : le poids des cadenas, c’est dangereux. 

Oui, c’est un peu comme le poids des ans qui fait ployer les couples… Le poids des cadenas, en dépit des campagnes menées pour les limiter, finit par devenir le symbole de la chute : une parcelle du grillage s’est effondrée en juin 2014. Personne n’a été blessé. Ouf ! Mais la mairie de Paris a demandé à Bruno Julliard, adjoint à la Culture et au Patrimoine, de s’occuper du dossier. Sa mission : convaincre les amoureux de sceller leur amour… d’une autre façon.

Raison 3 : Paris, c’est la ville la plus romantique ! 

Jules, mon cher et tendre, nous n’avons pas besoin de céder à cet effet de mode. Nous sommes déjà au coeur de la ville la plus romantique du monde. Paris, c’est l’amour pour toujours, un parfum d’éternité, une aura magique qui nous enveloppe lors des couchers de soleil de ce mois de septembre, le temps qui s’étire à l’infini en dépit de la rentrée des classes. « Respirer Paris, cela conserve l’âme« , voilà ce qu’a écrit Victor Hugo. Jules, promenons-nous au bord de la Fontaine Médicis au jardin du Luxembourg, rêvons sous le lampadaire de la place de Fürstenberg, et rentrons main dans la main jusqu’à l’île Saint louis. Et là, je te dirai OUI !

Paris ville Lumière et le Pont des Arts

Paris ville Lumière et le Pont des Arts

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r