Since 1920… Caravelle cabaret!

Socosy in and out

From 1920 to 1929, France saw the frantic period of the Roaring Twenties. At the end of the year, we delve into the past together. La Caravelle bar-restaurant already existed on the Old Port in Marseilles. It was a cabaret that housed sailors. What was happening in France and in Marseilles? So Cosy survey…

Mistinguett and Josephine Baker, Queen of the Roaring Twenties

They are the first to wear feathers and plumes, to descend a grand staircase, to dance topless with a belt of bananas. Strong and theatrical personalities, review leaders in the Music-hall style, Mistinguett and Joséphine Baker still inspire today the great artists of musical creation on Broadway! In 2015 at the Dôme de Marseille, do not miss the musical dedicated to Mistinguett. Event to be held on Saturday 25 April. 

Marseilles, a city of the “Mafia”
It was during this period that the reputation of Marseilles as a city of the “Mafia” arises. The twenties and thirties saw the emergence of organised crime. The wealthiest defendants are surrounded by clever lawyers. The word “mafia” evokes a criminal modernity that is distinguishable from the “gangster” associated with armed robbery and kidnapping. It suggests an organised crime that is watered down, presentable and that honours certain universal values​​, with what is called a “code of honour”. Legendary figure of this period: the famous film “Borsalino, with Jean-Paul Belmondo and Alain Delon, based on the book “Bandits in Marseilles” about the sports commentator from Marseilles Eugene Saccomano. 

 

Jazz or nothing!
The France of the Roaring Twenties is influenced by various cultural practices from abroad, particularly from the United States. One of the most significant influences is ragtime which is quickly called jazz and sees a spectacular rise to popularity, from Paris to Marseilles! Today, with its jazz concerts, the la Caravelle Bar-restaurant, represents a link between the past and present!

© So Cosy Hotels

Depuis 1920… cabaret Caravelle !

Hey ... pssst

De 1920 à 1929, la France vit avec frénésie la période des Années Folles. En cette fin d’année, plongeons ensemble dans le passé. Le bar-restaurant la Caravelle existait déjà sur le Vieux-port à Marseille. C’était un cabaret qui abritait des marins. Que se passait-il en France et dans la cité phocéenne ? So Cosy enquête…

Mistinguett et Joséphine Baker, reine des Années Folles

Elles sont les premières à porter des  des plumes et des aigrettes, à descendre un grand escalier, à danser seins nus avec une ceinture de banane. Personnalités fortes et théâtrales, meneuses de revue façon Music-hall, Mistinguett et Joséphine Baker inspirent encore aujourd’hui les grands artistes de la création musicale à Broadway ! En 2015 au Dôme de Marseille, ne manquez pas la comédie musicale qui est dédiée à Mistinguett. Rendez-vous le samedi 25 avril. 

imgres-2

 

Marseille, ville du « Milieu »

C’est durant cette période que la notoriété de Marseille en tant que ville du « Milieu » éclôt. Les années vingt et trente voient émerger le crime organisé. Les accusés les plus fortunés s’entourent d’habiles avocats. Le mot « Milieu » évoque une modernité criminelle qui est distinguée du « gangstérisme » associé au vol à main armée et au kidnapping. Il suggère un crime organisé édulcoré, présentable et respectueux de certaines valeurs universelles, avec ce qu’on appelle « un code d’honneur ». Illustration légendaire de cette période : le fameux film « Borsalino« , avec Jean-Paul Belmondo et Alain Delon, d’après le livre « Bandits à Marseille » du commentateur sportif marseillais Eugène Saccomano. 

images-2

Le jazz, sinon rien !

La France des Années folles est influencée par diverses pratiques culturelles provenant de l’étranger et notamment des Etats-Unis. L’une de ces influences les plus marquantes est le rag qui est rapidement appelé le jazz et qui connaît une ascension et une popularité spectaculaires, de Paris à Marseille ! Aujourd’hui, avec ses concerts de jazz, le Bar-restaurant la Caravelle, représente un trait d’union entre passé et présent !

So Cosy Hotels © Damel Edition conseil - Marc-r